03 August 2011

The Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP) is celebrating its 20th anniversary this year with the theme: “BFP: Two Decades of Committed Fire Service to the Filipino People.”

The celebration proper was held yesterday, August 2, 2011 which started at 7 a.m. with a Eucharistic Celebration at the new BFP National Headquarters building at Agham Road, Quezon City. BFP personnel, together with some guests, witnessed the unveiling of marker and ribbon-cutting. At around 8 o’clock in the morning, Vicar General for the Armed Forces of the Philippines, Military Ordinariate of the Philippines Msgr. (Maj.) Albert C. Songco, CHS, officiated the blessing of the building. 

In the afternoon, the program for the commemoration of the BFP anniversary started at exactly 5 p.m. at the Quezon City Sports Club at E. Rodriguez Sr. Ave., Quezon City with DILG Secretary HON. JESSE M. ROBREDO as the Guest of Honor and Speaker. BFP Key Officers headed by Fire Chief DIR ROLANDO M BANDILLA JR, CESO IV and personnel from National Headquarters and different regions took part in the event.

One of the most awaited parts in the celebration was the awarding of the Ten Outstanding Pilipino Firefighters (TOPF) which was organized by the Safety Organization of the Philippines, Inc. (SOPI) and Pilipinas Shell.

Six (6) BFP personnel were given the award for the Ten Outstanding Pilipino Firefighters (TOPF) which include SUPT ROMEL C TRADIO of Region 4A, CINSP RODRIGO N REYES of National Capital Region, SINSP LOWYN G AMOYAR of Region 12, INSP JOSEPHUS F ALBURO of Region, SFO3 Norberto Francisco E Matienzo of Region 4A and SFO3 Eugenio A Sarbida of Region 12. 

A plaque of appreciation was also conferred to the Local Chief Executives whose efforts have been part of the BFP’s success in its fire prevention campaigns and programs. The awardees are Hon. Rodolfo G. Biazon, Congressman of Muntinlupa City; Muntinlupa City Mayor Hon. Aldrin L. San Pedro; Valenzuela City Mayor Sherwin T. Gatchalian; Former Mayor of Sto. Tomas, La Union, Engr. Severino Cariño Carbonell; Villaverde Fire Brigade Emergency Response Team of Villaverde, Nueva Vizcaya; Hon. Lorna C. Silverio, Mayor of San Rafael, Bulacan; KB-NET QUEZON of Region 4A; Naujan, Oriental Mindoro Mayor Hon. Maria Angeles Caranzo-Casubuan; Iriga City Mayor Hon. Madeleine Alfelor-Gazmen; Tagbilaran City Mayor Atty. Dan Neri-Lim; Hon. Luben G. Vilches, Mayor of Sibunag, Guimaras; Zamboanga City Mayor Hon. Celso L. Lobregat; Cabanglasan, Bukidnon Mayor Hon. Rogelio C. Castillanes; Talaingod, Davao del Norte Mayor Hon. Basilio A. Libayao; and Sunshine Volunteer Fire Brigade of Baguio City.

In the keynote message, DILG Secretary Robredo stressed out the importance of commitment and dedication to service. In his term, he promised to make changes in the BFP as well as to other DILG attached agencies for the delivery of quality public service. Aside from updating technical and operational aspects for effective fire suppression, Robredo more emphasized positive attitude a firefighter must possess towards performance of duty as public servant who is sincere and can be trusted by the community.

In its 20 years of existence, the Bureau of Fire Protection continues to produce dedicated firefighters and acquire up-to-date equipment in order to deliver a fast and efficient fire service. With its modernization programs on cue, the Fire Bureau is certain to achieve its goal of reducing the country’s number of fire incidents in the coming years, making its every anniversary a momentous one.


Former Fire Chief Carpio Dies at 67

(26 July 2011) The whole family of the Bureau of Fire Protection is in grief for losing former Fire Chief GEN. FELIPE T CARPIO who passed away in Zamboanga City last July 22, 2011 at the age of 67. It was during his term that the BFP was able to procure service vehicles and firefighting gears, and the South Luzon Expressway (SLEX) EMS Satellite Station was established. Interment will be on July 28, 2011 (Thursday) at 2 p.m.